Self Publishing (a brief story)

I went to Lulu.com after being referred there.  I took a photo with my digital camera that I composed to use as the cover art.  I re-read and edited and had my wife re-read and edit a novella called Kansas Two-Step.  A charming little piece of  tongue-in-cheek noir melodrama that Iwrote during breaks and lunches at work nearly two years ago.  I uploaded the file, uploaded the photo for the front cover, wrote a synopsis and writer bio for the back cover.  Viola, right?  I ordered ten proof copies to distribute to my family and closest friends.  (Ma and Dad have ALWAYS wanted to see me in print.  I don’t know how Ma is going to accept the language that’s used.  Oh well!)

Friends, it needs work.  I need to change the font, add a cover page and maybe some acknowledgements, etc.  It doesn’t have an ISBN number so it’s not going to be on the NY Times Bestseller List.  BUT it is a first attempt.  And I’m only using a knock-off piece as the experiment.  When I feel fully satisfied I will add the URL onto this site for anyone to review.  Or purchase!

3 Comments

  1. jenniferneri said,

    June 17, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    Please do!
    It’s amazing the wheres and hows things get written isn’t it??

    Like

  2. lawrenceez said,

    June 23, 2009 at 7:28 am

    Does sound like a good achievement. Congrats.

    Like

  3. bdtharp said,

    June 28, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    Congratulations on your first book!

    Like


Leave a Reply

