Self Publishing (a brief story, part 2)

After uploading the document and the cover photo (which I composed and took myself) I didn’t realize that I had gotten an email that basically said “Here’s the proof copy; check it out”.  Dummy me goes ahead and buys 10 copies to give to family and close friends.  The wife says I should have ordered one, if any.  BUT the point is it was an experiment  The cost of the copies and the postage is negligible when compared to the EXPERIENCE.

I have since added a title page, changed the font to something that WON’T have my wife squinting, and slightly altered the back cover.  (My wife has referenced a few typos still in the book.  Oh well.  Experiment, remember!)  I have another novella that I am preparing for the second attempt and will proceed with my own lame attempts at “networking”; my family and friends are located in seven different states.  Like the old shampoo commercial, I’m hoping that they tell two friends and so on and so on…

For anyone who really cares to explore it, you can go to Lulu.com and search AUTHOR Berlow or TITLE Kansas Two-Step.

I am really interested in hearing from anyone else who has ventured into ANY form of self-publishing and what they themselves experienced.  I found it slightly scarier than the writing process itself.

3 Comments

  1. June 23, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    My name is carol coffey and, yes, I am a self-published author. My middle grade nove, ZOE LUCKY and the Green Gables Mystery was pubished in December, 2008. I am quite happy with the experience. I learned so much and on my second book in the Zoe Lucky series I plan to use my new knowledge. I published with Outskirts Press and have been satisfied with their work. I receive at least one e=mail a week with marketing suggestions. Check out my “Seven Steps to Successful Self-Publishing’ on my web site.

    Drop me a note when you get a chance and we can babble.

    Carol

    Like

  2. lawrenceez said,

    June 24, 2009 at 8:27 am

    I can see how this process could be extremely stressful. I’m biding my time before I make a definite decision. At the moment, I’m just focusing on the writing.

    I’ll check out the Kansas Two-step publication at some point.

    Like

  3. bdtharp said,

    June 28, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    The first try is always the scariest. It’ll get easier, I’m told.

    Like


Leave a Reply

