The Time Factor

“I’d like to write more but I don’t have the time.”  “I’d like to read more, or listen to more music, or watch more movies, or read more newspapers or magazines or blogs, but I don’t have the time.”

Either there are fewer hours in the day than when I was growing up or there’s something wrong here.  I believe it’s the latter.

To fill up the emptiness of our lives, we have infused them with technological gadgets which fascinate us and make us think they have a purpose, at least enough of a purpose to fill up the emptiness of our lives.  Our children are into soccer (hence, soccer moms) even though it is not a widely interesting sport the general American public.  We bide our time with activities solely designed to bide our time.  Our waking moments are either boring or scary so they are filled to avoid the unnerving sense of reality.  And we become “too busy”.

I believe that it is the writer (novelist, poet, screenwriter, etc.) who has a highly sensitive connection to the human condition and can comment on it with deadly aim.  At times, there are works of fiction that disturb us, perhaps because they come too close to ‘us’ and are general malaise or boredom or emptiness.  These works place a mirror directly before us, forcing us the re-examine our own personal conditions and determine whether or not they deserve further re-evaluation.

What is it about mystery and suspense fiction or transgressive fiction that has the ability to fascinate and disturb us at the same time?  Could it be that we recognize a darker side to ourselves that we wish not to admit?  Is there a character or sequence of events that represent a ‘freedom’ that we cannot partake of?

I am a married man, a homeowner, a full time employee.  I have family and household obligations.  I, too, was “too busy” until I was not.  Now I see things more clearly.

Or maybe it’s all just an illusion!

2 Comments

  1. jenniferneri said,

    June 24, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    hhhmmmm this post has me thinking. I will back….
    🙂

    Like

  2. jenniferneri said,

    July 6, 2009 at 9:09 am

    took me time, but your post came to me last night, out of nowhere (or at least what appeared like nowhere to me, funny how that happens).
    “And we become “too busy”.”
    To prioritize one has to hold oneself in awareness.
    that’s all folks…
    🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

