Networking

I’ve been fortunate enough to have several writers of all types and genres respond to my various posts and I thank you graciously.  I would now like to request your feedback on the idea of “networking”.

When you are in New York or in Los Angeles, there are a plethora of options in which to get yourself “out there”.  With no disrespect to my city or fellow writers living here, Wichita Kansas is not thought of as the center of the literary universe.  I am a proud member of the Kansas Writers Association and have considered joining the Kansas Authors Club.  That will extend my reach to my geographic region.

I blog.  That reaches whoever searches and many of you seem to be rather active searchers.  The world of the Internet is vast; however it is perhaps TOO vast causing a lengthy search before settling down on comfortable options.

I self-published a book, Kansas Two-Step, on Lulu.com and purchased copies for my family and closest friends located in six different states and asked that they “spread the word” so to speak.

I have been told to attend writer’s conferences.  An admirable suggestion but one that requires an investment of time and money.  I have neither in excess but I do have some to spare.

Beyond that, I welcome your suggestions and feedback from all the writers who have tried clever and little-thought-of ideas.  In this day and age, there are countless options.  I am looking for a few I can count on.

1 Comment

  1. jenniferneri said,

    July 9, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    tikiman, I am no help to you…sorry..
    i will sign up for e-mail notification in case any comments with word of wisdom come your way.

    Like


Leave a Reply

