Update (or What’s Been Happening?)

I’ve gotten good feedback from my first self-published novel Kansas Two-Step mostly from people at work who have read it and passed it around.  Fewer sales than expected but a good start.

Nearly ready to upload the next novel Quick.  My wife got the cover photo for me while we were going to the lake house in Oklahoma this past weekend:  a Jeep or Suv passing by on the highway, slightly blurred and skewed to the left side of the frame.  I’m formatting the book differently to include a few more pages in the front section prior to the text.  I’ve added comments from readers about the first book; it seems in keeping with traditional publishing blurbs.  Also, I will be buying more copies to have available for my co-workers rather than trust that they will go to the Lulu.com website and order the books.  At the end of a long day, a co-worker’s novel is the LAST thing you want to focus on.

Got my first royalty check from lulu.com:  $35.92.  I am a professional author now.  Yahoo!

I’ve taken a time out on writing in favor of reading.  Old short stories.  Writing magazines (Poets & Writers, Writer’s Digest, Writer’s Journal).  Dostoyevsky’s Notes from Underground and Faulkner’s As I Lay Dying.  I’m just in the mood for classics as opposed to contemporary fiction right now.  I feel I will be more rejuvenated from something that is grounded and not capable of being moved around and shaken apart.

I haven’t given up on the new novel (thanks Jennifer Neri for your kind words and encouragement).  I have read articles relating to what she recommended which was to just keep writing it.  (Brief recap:  I was taking a new approach to this serious dramatic work by writing slower and editing as I went.  But i was editing too much and not liking what I wrote or edited.)  I’m just going to hit it hard and get a workable draft for starters.

I’m also going to work, cooking dinner, scooping the litter boxes, mowing what little yard I have left after my wife’s excellent landscaping, and stopping and looking and breathing deeply.

Ahh!

3 Comments

  1. lawrenceez said,

    August 21, 2009 at 3:24 am

    Congrats on getting your first royalty cheque. Sounds really impressive.

    Like

  2. Cindy Watson said,

    August 22, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    Congrats on your royalty cheque! Way cool…a published author. I have a new book for you…after Andrew reads it…it is fascinating. Assassination Vacation by Sarah Vowell….

    Like

  3. jenniferneri said,

    August 26, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    “stopping and looking and breathing deeply.-

    Sounds wonderful and perfect!

    Oh, a cheque! Yay!
    The first cheque I got for a publication was for about the same amount, but wow, did it feel great!

    Like


Leave a Reply

