NaNoWriMo.org

Writers, if you are aware of NaNoWriMo, November is just around the corner.  And if you’re not, go to the website and engage yourselves.  It is an online “event” (“competition” is not an accurate word because you are only competing against yourself and there’s nothing to win except pride) in which the challenge is to write a 50,000 word novel within the span of the month of November.  You’re not supposed to write “Catcher in the Rye” or “Finnegan’s Wake”.  But if doesn’t get you ON your butt to start writing, I don’t know what will.  My first attempt in 2007 resulted in a semi-decent novel (since re-edited 5 times) and the attempt from 2008 was a bit better, stylistically different, and hugely entertaining.  Then again, I’m biased.  Try it and you’ll be hooked.  Follow me and my adventures by searching author hb_wichita.

3 Comments

  1. Magda Ess said,

    October 12, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    I’m stepping gingerly into it this year as opposed to diving in as I have in years past, if only because of my class load this time around. But it’ll be good to have a reason to write. I’ll have to add you there.

    Like

  2. tikiman1962 said,

    October 12, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    Please do. I look forward to another “success” this year: a 50,000 word jumple of incomprehensible thriller gibberish to be turned into a transgressive beast of a masterpiece at a later, more conveneint time. talk about success, huh?

    Like

  3. dj said,

    November 3, 2009 at 8:44 am

    ok your on my buddy list but your account doesnt accept private emails which means i cant reply to yours on there.

    Like


Leave a Reply

