Post NaNo Holiday Writing Blues

Ok, so I busted my tail to complete NaNoWriMo successfully for the third year in a row.  I got up a little early and wrote before going to work.  I stayed up just a wee bit later and didn’t watch television.  I put all other projects on hold and within 19 days (wow!) I have a viable manuscript of a pretty decent novel which will be worked on excessively in 2010.

Now what?

Well, I got done with NaNoWriMo early due to Thanksgiving and holiday decorations, etc.  And, yes, I’ve got my sister-in-law’s birthday dinner this Saturday.  Most of my Xmas shopping is online.  So, why is it so darned hard to set my sorry self in front of the computer and pick back up on my other projects?

I can’t necessarily pass it off to the “season” or lack of daylight due to the time of year or being burnt out.  Or can I?  It’s like using “Writer’s Block” as an excuse (an expression I firmly DO NOT believe in).  Being tired is one thing; having other or additional commitments is another. 

BUT if we allow those commentaries or justifications or rationalizations to become acceptable, then our writing suffers.  NaNoWriMo is a prime example of not needing to write well initially, just writing and getting words on paper as a starter.

Last night I wrote two paragraphs of my new novel (the one about the widower going on a road trip across the country referenced in an earlier entry).  Just two paragraphs.  I’m not upset.  It’s what needs to be done.

Leave a Reply

