New Year’s Resolutions

No, it’s not what you think.  I didn’t resolve to lose weight, exercise more, stay in touch better with family and friends, try to make myself better.  Those are all noble concepts and trite ideas.

I’m a writer.  I resolved to write more.

I have four completed novels in various stages of editing.  I have started two more.  I’m going full boat with all of them.  My wife got me a gigantic book, a 2010 guide to publishers, editors, and literary agents.  I’m going to scour it.  I’m going ot blog more and read more blogs, not only of the folks who I have enjoyed reading this past year, but new people as well.  I’m going to see if I have a “spare” novella hanging around and try to publish another piece on Lulu.com  I’m going to look into starting a web site and research other networking ideas.  I’m going to explore my own community (Wichita, KS) for literary possibilities (writers groups, readings and open mikes, etc.)  I’m going to continue reading: mystery and suspense fiction, transgressive literature, classic fiction.

If I am successful at these resolutions, it will only have the effect of making my entire life better: weight, health, relationships, appreciation for just being alive and breathing.

I’m not making a new start; I’m continuing on this amazing journey of life.

Happy New Year to you all.

2 Comments

  1. jenniferneri said,

    January 10, 2010 at 10:31 am

    “I’m a writer. I resolved to write more.”
    Hear hear!

    Happy New Year tikiman.

    Like

  2. tikiman1962 said,

    January 10, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    Write until your fingers fall off; your wrists develop carpal tunnel syndrome; your brain melts; and your family wanders EXACTLY what you’re doing behind that closed door.
    Only then will you know who you truly are.

    Like


Leave a Reply

