My wife, my editor

My wife and I just celebrated our 12th wedding anniversary this past weekend.  I won’t get all gushy and describe how much I love her and how blessed I am to have her as a part of my life.  (Well, I guess I just did.)

What she has become ever since the last three years is not only my most enthusiastic writing supporter but my initial editor.  That is, until I find a full-time professional one.  She is an avid reader herself and looks at things not from the perspective of an agent or a publisher or psuedo-intellectual artiste.  She looks at things as…well, a reader.  It brings everything back to basics and requires me to address concerns in a fashion that almost forces me to understand my work even deeper.  I must have an answer for her, not because she is my wife but because the reader demands it.

And, yes, because she is my wife.   As a writer, she has become the best partner to have.

7 Comments

  1. lawrenceez said,

    March 9, 2010 at 8:43 am

    Sounds really good. Happy anniversary.

    Like

  2. Wife said,

    March 9, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    It was a superb anniversary weekend, in deed! I, too, consider myself so very blessed to have you in my life. I love you. Now get back to writing!

    Like

  3. Wife said,

    March 9, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    Ok, how do I get rid of that scary pink face?

    Like

  4. jenniferneri said,

    March 10, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    Congratulations to you both!
    You are lucky to have such a reader in your life 🙂

    (by the way, haven’t ventured into facebook. Not enough time in my day to go there or to twitter. The blog will have to do. Good luck with it.)

    Like

    • tikiman1962 said,

      March 10, 2010 at 9:59 pm

      That i understand. With you being a parent and a writer and a prodigious blogger and a consummate blogger reader (as well, I imagine, as a reader reader–you get my meaning), I am simply amazed that you have time to sleep.
      Thank you for the comment.

      Like

  5. jenniferneri said,

    March 10, 2010 at 10:40 pm

    who said anything about sleep?

    Like


Leave a Reply

