KWA Scene Conference – redux

This will be the first writer’s conference I will have ever attended.  This Saturday, March 27.  A series of seminars.  A main speaker, Lt. Ken Landwehr of the Wichita Police Department.  A special 10-minute session with Charles Salzberg.  And a lot of hope which I have in abundance.

Expectations, on the other hand, are being held in check.  I can’t assume miracles, a Lana Turner-type discovery in a soda shoppe, a recognition of my fabulous personality and writing talent and a need to make sure by some agent or publisher that I MUST be published.  (This would make a great fantasy story, although I look nothing like a hobbit.)

But it seems that I am finally realizing that utterly necessary networking that is required for this literary endeavor.  Yes, I can write from sunrise to sunset until my fingers bleed and beg every family member and friend to read my work and honestly (if it were possibly) critique my work.  And then re-do, re-write, re-edit.  All while working full-time, paying bills, running a household, and maintaining some semblance of a “normal” existence.  (Apply your definition as you please.)

This blog, Facebook, and goodness-knows whatever other methodologies I can find ARE required elements in the creative world these days.  I can’t shy away from them because of “privacy” concerns.  Writers need to be their own cheerleaders and public relations agents.  A certain degree of blarney is required, that element that turns the quiet and reserved individual into a dance-hall artiste.

I don’t know WHAT will happen but along with my continuing writing there will be this amazing entrance into the beau monde.

6 Comments

  1. jenniferneri said,

    March 25, 2010 at 9:50 am

    Oh, I am excited for you! (and a little envious….)

    I attended one conference in Ottawa 2 summers back. It was great. I was not out to be published then, but just being surrounded by writers and work-shopping all day was amazing! I hope you enjoy.

    Like

  2. tikiman1962 said,

    March 25, 2010 at 10:45 am

    Thanks for the feedback/enthusiasm/encouragement. Writing, as we all know, is a lonely task. BUT feedback/criticism/networking involves flesh and blood and speech.
    The wife will be in bed still by the time I leave the house. She’s promised to wish me well the night before and have a martini ready when i return. What more could you ask for?

    Like

  3. lawrenceez said,

    March 25, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    Hope it goes well, tikiman.

    btw – I’ve added your site to my blogroll (if that’s okay.)

    Like

  4. lawrenceez said,

    March 28, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    Hi, did you get to the conference?

    Like


Leave a Reply

