Spring Cleaning

This past Saturday, the day before Easter.  Not the house.  Not the garage.  Not the office.

The grill.  The five burner, stainless steel, gas grill.  I love grilling.  Whether you refer to me as the Grill Master, the Grill Sergeant, Dr. BBQ, I love to grill.  And I will gladly have the debate about gas versus charcoal any day of the week.   And whereas I grill year round (in Kansas, it will snow and I WILL grill), there is an unofficial beginning to the season, some time around beginning of Spring, when the grill is given it’s top to bottom cleaning, that you can say the season has begun.

Just for temptation sake, I had four Nathan’s all beef hot dogs that I grilled up for lunch when I was done.  the wife loved them.  but tonight’s dinner was a regular and a favorite.  Grilled Southwestern chicken breasts and grilled corn with diced poblano pepper and Chipotle tabasco sauce.

Now, we’re not talking about corn on the cob.  I have a grill pan that I line with aluminum foil.  I put in a whole bag of frozen corn, mix in the diced poblano (good flavor, not too much heat) and sprinkle the Chipotle sauce generously on top.  The corn and peppers get a little crunch to them but I don’t over cook so that it is still juicy.  {I usually add diced red onion but I was out.}

It was a bit windy and it did look like clouds were rolling in.  But there is nothing like cooking outdoors and savoring the aroma of the grill.

4 Comments

  1. lawrenceez said,

    April 7, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    Sounds nice. I went for a special lunch on Easter Sunday and enjoyed lemon marinated chicken with herbs.

    Like

  2. tikiman1962 said,

    April 7, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    That sounds light and lively, perfect for an Easter lunch. What were the sides? And did you indulge in any chocolates?

    Like

  3. lawrenceez said,

    April 8, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    Roast pototoes and peas. I didn’t eat any chocolate. I mustn’t have milk and a bar I bought on Monday made me feel quite ill later on.

    Like

  4. tikiman1962 said,

    April 8, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    Tuesday night. A simple recipe for the grill. Kielbasa (sliced into one inch pieces), par-boiled new potatoes (quartered), dill pickles (sliced as thick as the kielbasa). Alternated on the skewers. Grill and slather with melted butter with dill weed. Potatoes get crispy charred, kielbasa sizzles, pickles flavor enhanced by eating. Slide off skewers and stab with your fork.

    Like


Leave a Reply

