Sending out the Query Letter

I met Charles Salzberg, author of “Swann’s Last song” at the Kansas Writer’s Association Scene Conference.  I actually had a consultation with him in which I discussed my transgressive dark comedy WEEKEND GETAWAYS, OR ADVENTURES IN CONTRACT KILLING.  He thought it was an interesting high concept piece.

Since that time, I have researched a bunch of agents and have narrowed down a list of twelve.  I sent Charles my prospective “pitch letter” and he responded pretty quickly.  Some alterations here and there and I’ll be spending tomorrow night emailing (or, in one case, snail mailing) these query letters.

I’m a grown man, married, a homeowner, a full-time employee at a large telecommunications firm and I feel like I’m going out on my first date.  The excitement is tangible; the expectations are realistic.  But writing in a vacuum serves no purpose if one wants to earn a living at that profession.

So…here it goes!

3 Comments

  1. lawrenceez said,

    April 27, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    Great. I wish you every success with the agents.

    Like

    • tikiman1962 said,

      April 27, 2010 at 7:18 pm

      Thanks. As the responses pour in and I became fabulously in demand, I’ll keep everyone updated on my blog and Facebook. (Notice the extreme irony and sarcasm. But, hey, I’ve got to do something, right?)

      Like

  2. Cindy Watson said,

    April 30, 2010 at 10:52 am

    I will be awaiting updates! I am excited for you. Woo Hoo!

    Like


Leave a Reply

