Another Agent Query Update

As of this juncture, I am at 38 sent out with 10 negative responses.  I am using querytracker.com to research and document my efforts.  Several other users comment about the nature of  the responses, whether they were cold or encouraging, whether the agent took so long to send a form rejection.  I’m not bothered by that.  If you received anywhere from 30-75 extra emails per day, let’s say, over and above your regular workload, you might find it difficult to read and respond to them all in a timely fashion.

I would much rather get a response that says “No”, “Sorry, not interested”, “This is not for me”, than an agent indicating on their website that they only respond IF they are interested.  How do I know if they got the email?  How do I know if an assistant read it, thought it was good, and then spaced out or got fired?  The up-in-the-air approach is harder to take than the negative responses.

However, I keep in mind that it is a business and we are all subject to the whims and machinations of big business.  My goal is to KEEP AT IT.  I didn’t determine to become a writer to work in a vacuum and to have my work read solely my mommy and daddy and a few select critique groups.  I WANT to be published.  I WANT to be part of the business.  Therefore I have to KEEP AT IT.

4 Comments

  1. dejavaboom said,

    June 2, 2010 at 6:34 am

    I admire your tenacity. I don’t know what keeps me from submitting work. I have written lots, but I never turn it out. Likely fear of rejection. Keep the faith and keep kicking them out there. I’m impressed.

    Like

  2. tikiman1962 said,

    June 2, 2010 at 9:49 am

    Of late, there has been a more profound sense of urgency that is the underlining cause of my tenacity. Age, time, the sense of what is and what could have been…not that I ruminate over regrets. But at some point you reflect on the promise of your youth and realize you are no longer young. I am most certainly a better writer now than in my 20’s or 30’s. I am certainly willing to revise, edit, etc. to accomodate the publishing industry. I also know that living in Wichita, KS does not afford me as many immediate opportunities as living on either coast.
    So, the process continues for one reason: IT MUST.

    Like

  3. lawrenceez said,

    June 2, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    Hi, thanks for the update. I really admire your determination. Best of luck with your novel submissions.

    Like

  4. tikiman1962 said,

    June 2, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    Thank you, as always, for the support.

    Like


Leave a Reply

