BBQ Sauce

It’s summer and from a cooking standpoint that means one thing to me: grilling.  This is my recipe for BBQ sauce which is called “BBQ 3” (based on the number of attempts I made to get it right.)

Now, I know what you’re thinking.  “BBQ sauce?  A recipe?  Like, I’ve got to make it myself?  I can BUY a bottle for 88 cents.”  And my response is that an 88 cent bottle of bbq sauce that everyone else is buying will make your food taste like…everynoe else.  Don’t fire up the grill to pretend to be macho.  Grill because it is truly a culinary art form.

1 clove of garlic, minced

1 small can tomato sauce

1 small can tomato paste

2 capfuls of liquid smoke

¼ cup cider vinegar

¼ tsp Tabasco

1 Tbs. brown sugar

2 Tbs. Worcestershire

Sauté the garlic in a non-stick saucepan without oil for approximately 10 to 15 seconds.  Add the tomato sauce and the tomato paste until well blended.  Add each ingredient one at a time and stir until well blended.  Reduce heat to low and simmer covered for 30 minutes.

There is a variety of flavor here to accommodate meats, chicken, and pork dishes.  It is closer to a more traditional Kansas City style with the vinegar and brown sugar.  You can substitute garlic flavored tomato sauce and garlic flavored tomato paste.  But the real thing is much more fragrant.

The preservative factor comes from the canned tomato products.  Beyond that this will store well in a glass jar in the refrigerator for about two weeks.

1 Comment

  1. Your Garden said,

    July 9, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    BBQ Sauce « Tikiman1962's Blog…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

    Like


Leave a Reply

