Book Sales in Unexpected Places

A couple of weeks ago my wife and I visited her aunt and uncle down in Arkansas City, KS where her aunt runs Daisy Mae’s Cafe.  It is the typical old school restaurant with great food (I could rave about the chicken fried steak) and good prices and real down-to-earth people.

The primary reason for the visit was to give Dixie (my wife’s aunt) a copy of my books Kansas Two-Step and Quick.  I had kept forgetting to give her the copies every time we’d seen them and I felt like a damned fool.  So, we took a day, went down to visit family, had some good eats and good chat.  Dixie has this display case in the front foyer where people put stuff to sell.  I had my box of books and figured “What the heck?”  I signed each title page, put some cheap-o stickers on that said “Autographed copy”, and set them up in the display case.

That was a couple of weeks ago.  I didn’t expect anything.  Period.

I got a box in the mail yesterday.  Besides a really cool Three Stooges t-shirt (because Dixie knows I’m a fan) was an envelope.  On the outside were two of the price stickers and the handwritten note “We sold two.  It’s a start.”  Inside was a twenty-dollar bill.

If that don’t beat all.

5 Comments

  1. July 18, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    Book sales money is like golf gambling or bluegrass gig money. It just spends better.

    Dr. B

    Like

  2. tikiman1962 said,

    July 18, 2010 at 6:50 pm

    The funny thing is I told my wife we should visit Aunt and Uncle again, take them to their favorite watering hole, and spend at least $20. Hey, it’s all good, Dr. B.

    Like

  3. jenniferneri said,

    July 23, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    Hi tikiman! Awesome stuff I’m reading about here. Partials……..people buying your book from a coffee shop window. You sound dismayed, like you are wishing for more. I see interest! Do not despair….I don’t think you will!

    Like

    • tikiman1962 said,

      July 27, 2010 at 8:22 pm

      No dismay. No despair. Sometimes it is nothing more than the wonderment of a child, uncertain of how things work.
      We grow, we learn, we become better writers, we become better people…life is good!

      Like

  4. January 4, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    […] Book Sales in Unexpected Places July 20104 comments 4 […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

