NaNoWriMo 2010 – (Update #2)

I got to a point where I was four days ahead of schedule and then I got a curve ball.
An internal position at work that I had applied for requested a presentation to be made and delivered by noon on Monday. I got the email on Friday. I work on Saturday and Sunday. Wow!
So, on Saturday I worked on the ideas for the presentation, worked out a script, thought of some photos I would need, and then came up with a game plan. My wife and I still had Happy Hour and dinner and then she shoved me off into the office.
I got the project done using Windows Movie Maker which I had only recently learned to use and put it aside for the evening.
Sunday night I made some revisions and did a final edit, answered the short questions and then emailed it off.
I went from four days ahead to 2 days ahead. I did a little bit of writing on Sunday night and then picked up on Monday. Now on my day off, beside the household stuff and the grocery shopping, I hope to get four or five days ahead again.
I love doing NaNoWriMo. I’ve completed it each of the last three years and have gone on to do revisions of the pieces (in some cases up to a sixth draft). But a good position at work…well, I know what the priority is.
I hope I will be successful with both things.

3 Comments

  1. Cathy said,

    November 9, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    oh good! a paying gig is always useful. and you’re still ahead….i however am at about day 3, but that’sa fine by me…

    Like

  2. tikiman1962 said,

    November 9, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    Unlike my previous efforts, I had characters and a concept but no real plot except kinda sorta. When you write hard boiled crime, there is only so much mood you can set and dialogue you can utter before you have to have something happen.
    Gee whiz!
    I hope I get that internal position. It will be worth it.
    Keep at it. One way or another, November will come to an end!

    Like

  3. Sharyl Friebus said,

    November 9, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    How exciting! Good luck on both ventures. And let us know as soon as you hear something!

    Like


Leave a Reply

