Looking for the Macguffin: The Final NaNoWriMo Update

This past Monday, I was sitting at 41,000+ words, trying to wrap up NaNoWriMo for the year. I knew how I wanted the story to end but I was at the point in the story where I need a plot element to get past the hurdle.
I need a Macguffin.
(Those of you familiar with Hitchcock know what I mean. Those that aren’t can always Google it.)
I had placed ideas for subplots earlier in the story but, being that it was NaNoWriMo, I never developed them and it was too late to bring them up now. that’s all for the editing WAY later. I kept thinking and trying to come up with something that sounded legitimate and would fit in without too much explanation.
I used the notorious “files”. They were something just hanging around the bad guys house, in his safe, or somewhere else undefinable. Despite the fact that he had taken great steps to avoid association with the other bad guys, he just happened to have them hanging around his house. In paper. Traceable.
WHATEVER!
The point is that instead of just sitting there at 41,000+ words, I continued trying to put together just a couple of hundred words to make enough sense to blaze through the last few thousand to get to the finish line.
All this, mind you, while my wife and I were enjoying two days off together BEFORE Thanksgiving, trying to decorate the house for the Christmas season (which included me putting up the lights), AND preparing the food to bring to our Thanksgiving dinners (as in plural, as in more to make).
Waking up at 5:45 am on Tuesday and this morning and writing until about 8:30 am brought me to the finish. Fourth year in a row having completed NaNoWriMo with perhaps the biggest load of crap in any of those years.
However, it will rest and rise (like the bread I am now baking) and be ready for MANY rewrites after the first of the year.
I want to give special thanks to two Wichita regional NaNo-ers, katismom77 and SusanPopejoy, beside being writing buddies on NaNo were also friends on Facebook. I don’t usually get to the write-ins because I don’t use a laptop and if I’ve got time to meet-and-greet then I have time to write. Writing is more important. These ladies were encouraging, motivational, and just a lot of fun to gab and jest with. They finished either late last week or earlier this week and they deserve the praise that any participant deserves for completion of a very difficult task.

2 Comments

  1. cath c said,

    November 24, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    congratulations! i fell off due to illness and family dramas, but i like what i have to work with later.

    Like

    • tikiman1962 said,

      November 24, 2010 at 2:12 pm

      Illness and family dramas will always sidetrack you from just about everything. This time around, I don’t know WHAT I have to work with. Before this month, I was working on draft number 6 of my 2007 NaNoWriMo. As usual, it goes on.

      Like


Leave a Reply

