Frustration over Candy-Making

Over the last several years, I have become known for the candies I make at the holidays. One particular confection is chocolate peanut clusters. They are made with chocolate bark melted over a double-boiler with honey roasted peanuts. They are laid by spoonfuls onto a waxed sheet and then placed into the freezer for about ten minutes. They are truly a delightful combination of different kinds of sweetness.
This year’s chocolate bark was somehow different; it was more sensitive to moisture. The double-boiler tends to spew vapor. Therefore the chocolate didn’t melt as smoothly causing my famous chocolate peanut clusters to take on the appearance of dark lava. They still tasted well, but appearance is everything in cooking.
The second batch was melted in a non-stick saucepan and came out perfectly.
A new confection was chocolate covered pretzels. Just long sticks broken into bite-sized pieces dipped in the same bark. The combination of sweet and salty was truly interesting. (I didn’t have as many because I have a temporary crown in that won’t be permanent until December 8.)
When Christmas rolls around, I will no better if I happen to get that same stubborn chocolate bark.

5 Comments

  1. Sharyl Friebus said,

    December 1, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    I had the pleasure of trying both the chocolate covered pretzels and the peanuts as well. They both tasted fabulous….I even hid my own stash once we got home with the ziplock full, as I have a family of sweet tooths and I wanted to make sure I got my fair share! They were wonderful and even though you didn’t like the new texture, they still looked extremely appetizing. You know I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, but when I do eat sweets, that’s the kind of thing I love. I hope you continue with the new pretzels!

    Like

  2. jenniferneri said,

    December 2, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    I was just going through my reader and the title of this post pulled over. (For some reason I am not getting e-mails any longer of new posts from those I am subscribed to). Anw, glad to see you’re having fun candy!! I actually made myself quite ill in the tummy two nights in a row recently gorging on chocolate covered pretzels (and I am not one who is normally enticed much by sweets! must be that combination)

    Like

    • tikiman1962 said,

      December 2, 2010 at 8:47 pm

      The thing I tell myself is that I DON’T have a sweet tooth. The truth is that I do and I would be a massive candy eater if I didn’t use a little discipline. So I WANT to be a massive chocolate hound but I can’t afford to be. But don’t tell anyone.
      (Hey, was that my sister-in-law who commented before you? Shoot! The cat’s outta the bag!)

      Like

  3. lawrenceez said,

    December 4, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    Sounds wonderful. I’m partial to chocolate, but can only eat chocolate that contains no milk, butter, whey or milk protein.

    Like

    • tikiman1962 said,

      December 6, 2010 at 7:11 pm

      If you ever visit me in Wichita, KS remind me of that so I can make something that you can tolerate AND enjoy.

      Like


Leave a Reply

