December = A down time for writing

For the last four years December has been a decidedly down time for writing for me. First there is the rush and exhilaration of NaNoWriMo, the goal mostly being to complete the effort before Thanksgiving so that I can prepare all of my food stuffs. Obviously, I don’t want to touch the NaNoWriMo piece until at the very least after the first of the year. I want to give it time to percolate or ferment (whichever the case may be.)
But then the holiday/family festivities begin full blown starting in December. My sister-in-law’s birthday (which we have previously discussed); Christmas Eve (for my wife and myself) and Christmas (with two sets of families); New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day. And whereas everything sounds like a lot of fun (which it is) there is a lot of effort involved.
Add to that the year-end discussions with my wife about next year’s plans whether it is vacations or projects or long term events. All of a sudden it is fewer and far between to edit or write or contemplate anything of a literary or artistic nature.
This is not being said by way of disappointment. This is simply something that has come to be over the last few years. There is the writing/literary life and then there is real life. At times they blend and merge; other times they are in conflict; and still other times when one takes precedence over the other.
This being the holiday season, I must admit that I choose to take a bit of a vacation, so to speak. I still read my Writer’s Digest. I always have a novel that I am working on. I read the blogs of the folks I am following. I find a moment or two to make a few entries myself. But for the most part I reflect on the previous year in terms of ALL of the things that have made me who I am.
And I give thanks.

4 Comments

  1. Shelia said,

    December 13, 2010 at 10:21 am

    I give thanks for you my Love and all that you do to pursue your dreams. Shelia

    Like

  2. lawrenceez said,

    December 26, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    Hey, enjoy the rest of the Festive Season. Best wishes.

    Like


Leave a Reply

