The Constant Art of Being a Writer

This is the title of a book by N.M. Kelby that my wife (who is also my editor) got me for Christmas. I started reading it today at work on my breaks and lunch which is when I do a significant amount of my reading.

What impresses me the most in just the first 17 pages is the concept of the title, the meaning behind, and the gravitas associated with that meaning.

The two words that stand out the most are “Constant” and “Being”. Think about it: As writers, we are ALWAYS working, looking around, seeing, thinking, comprehending, absorbing, all the minutiae, all the details. Read the newspaper and think of a story line. Be in a social setting and catch snippets of dialogue. Constant. Even to the extent that our dreams may contain fragments worth remembering. This is the constant part.

The Being part may take more effort. You work full time, you are in a relationship, you own a home, you have friends and family, and ALL of this is important. But equally so is the Art of Being a Writer. And at times it is far more than an art. It is a science, a challenge, a struggle, an obsession, a disappointment, a high, and a Hope.

What little I have accomplished in the last year an a half seems pitiful compared to the writer’s whose blogs I follow. But comparing it only to my world, my life, my existence, I am thrilled with what has taken place thus far.

There is no stopping, there is no quitting, there is no “gee whiz” moment that takes a firm hold. There is simply Being a Writer. And, as a proclamation, there is nothing that will stop me from continuing.

I hope my wife realizes what she may have done by the purchase of this gift. I kind of think she has. She’s sly and wise, a deadly combination.

6 Comments

  1. Matt said,

    January 4, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    Nice post. Quite true.

    Like

  2. tikiman1962 said,

    January 4, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    Tarry forth!

    Like

  3. lawrenceez said,

    January 6, 2011 at 5:14 am

    Hope your writing goes well.

    Like

    • tikiman1962 said,

      January 11, 2011 at 9:32 am

      To be honest, as long as I am sitting at my desk, in front of the computer, with either a draft for revision or a clean page, it is ALL going well.
      Thanks for the continued encouragement.

      Like

  4. jenniferneri said,

    January 8, 2011 at 8:30 pm

    ha – I asked you if you like this book – here’s my answer! lol

    Like


Leave a Reply

