Herb Roasted Chicken on a bed of Leeks and Cherry Tomatoes

I love taking whatever happens to be “hanging around” in my refrigerator and creating something that doesn’t seem like leftovers.

Case in point: I had three quarters of a leek from a salad I made. There were two half packages of store bought herbs from a side dish my wife made. (Normally we’ve got plenty of fresh grown herbs around but this being winter, you do what you need to do.)

This morning I prepped dinner. I diced the remaining leeks; rinsed and halved a package of cherry tomatoes; partially thawed the chicken and sprinkled it with salt and pepper; laid the chicken on the bed of leeks and tomatoes; placed the herb sprigs haphazardly on top; and poured half a bottle of white cooking wine down into the vegetables (to prevent burning and to add steam when baking).

I hate wasting food and the leeks would have gotten mushy and the herbs would have lost their potency. Therefore, I have killed two birds with the proverbial single stone. Food will not go to waste and my wife and I will have a lovely dinner.

(Note to sister-in-law who reads this blog: Don’t try to think too hard about “what goes together.” Take your various ingredients and whip them together. Trust your instincts. You KNOW what you’re doing.)

Thank you for that brief sidebar into family pep talk.

3 Comments

  1. Sharyl Friebus said,

    March 1, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    You know me well. I would be the sister-in-law to those who don’t know. And while I very much share your sentiments about not wanting to waste food, I will never be as creative in the kitchen as you are. I do try to use up those items getting ready to go bad…don’t always succeed, but as you stated, I often question what goes together! Case in point, I learned to never use cream of mushroom in Chicken Risotto if you’re out of cream of chicken. It wasn’t worth eating. This is why I’m afraid to venture into unknown territory. Not a risk taker, even in the kitchen. Having said that, what time shall I be over for that Herb Roasted Chicken! 🙂

    Like

    • tikiman1962 said,

      March 1, 2011 at 2:39 pm

      Only made 4 breasts. Which means between you and your spouse and children and me and Shelia, SOMEONE is going to go hungry.
      I’ll let you choose.

      Like

  2. Sharyl Friebus said,

    March 1, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    was worth a shot…. 😉 you know how we love dining at the Hamlow fine dining establishment!

    Like


Leave a Reply

