Poetry Collections

I just got my proof copies of the two poetry collections I put together on Lulu. They are currently in PRIVATE status. I’ve learned (after many mistakes) to not make them available until they are satisfactory.

My wife (my editor) was reviewing them last night and was impressed. She says she is not much of a poetry reader but I think that makes her a better judge of the work. Too often, people who “know” poetry might have pre-conceived notions of what it is supposed to be.

In the meantime I am showing the covers which I am quite happy with.

Ornithology is a poetic interpretation on the life of Charlie “Bird” Parker and his influence on jazz music. It was attempt to incorporate the rhythms of be-bop into a verse form. There are other Jazz Poems that are included, written in the early 1990’s when classic jazz music was a major influence in my artistic life. (Now, of course, I am the Tikiman and focus on Lounge Music and Martinis.)

The Art of Legerdemain is a collection of poems using the concept of the Poet as Magician. Both create illusions seemingly out of nothing. Both dig deep into the Spiritus Mundi. Both have doubt whether anything they do will have any lasting influence. These were written during the mid-1990’s and I have my dear friend, Joe Gallo, to thank for the many discussions we had regarding poetry and life. (Can anyone guess where the cover design came from?)

When the final editing is down and the pieces are ready for public consumption, I will advise accordingly.

9 Comments

  1. March 15, 2011 at 10:28 am

    I love those covers! Nice job!

    Like

    • tikiman1962 said,

      March 15, 2011 at 2:07 pm

      Thank you. It’s been very gratifying being an old dog learning new tricks. The element of self-sufficiency is what is most gratifying.

      Like

  2. Sharyl Friebus said,

    March 15, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    I was just thinking I recognized it as being from one of your throws???! Do I win a prize?!?! 🙂

    Like

    • tikiman1962 said,

      March 15, 2011 at 2:09 pm

      Why, yes it is. Excellent job. You win:

      An all-expense-paid taco Dinner at your mother’s house with your loving family. But wait! You also get to sample not one but TWO delightful batches of homemade salsa. And there’s more. Pleasant conversation and laughter and general lunacy.

      All this can be yours…if The Price Is Right!

      Like

  3. lawrenceez said,

    March 15, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    Sounds really exciting. Hope to read the anthologies.

    Like

    • tikiman1962 said,

      March 16, 2011 at 8:22 am

      As you are aware (and have stated in the past), there is always some tweaking that is necessary. For me, it is about the editing, compiling, and “digitizing”. The pieces stand on their own.
      Further announcements to follow.
      Thanks for your continued support, Lawrence.

      Like

  4. Peg Nichols said,

    March 16, 2011 at 5:13 am

    Doesn’t the city of Kansas City, MO own Charlie “Bird” Parker’s saxophone? I’m not a jazz fan, but I seem to remember that a former mayor was criticized for spending money to acquire the saxophone. He said he felt like it “belonged” in Kansas City. I have no idea where the saxophone is now, unless it’s at the Jazz Museum at 18th and Vine.

    Like

    • tikiman1962 said,

      March 16, 2011 at 8:26 am

      It’s a shame that the American Jazz Museum is just about three to three and a half hours up the road from me here in Wichita, KS and I’ve never been.
      I do remember locating his grave site from Find-A-Grave.com (or something like that) and there was another interesting story about the head stone.
      I hope to visit both some day.
      Thanks for the reply.

      Like

  5. Peg Nichols said,

    March 16, 2011 at 11:42 am

    Tikiman – would you get in touch with me by e-mail? At onefreenation at yahoo.com . “One Free Nation, Many Voices” was the theme of the 2010 Kansas Authors Club, which I was promoting with a blog. After the convention, I started a successor blog at http://www.kansasplains.blogspot.com .

    Like


Leave a Reply

