Poetry Collections now available

I finalized the proof copies of my two poetry collections and slightly re-did the cover of one.

Ornithology, and other Jazz Poems is a poetic rendering on the life and music of Charlie “Bird” Parker. It is an attempt to assimilate the musical stylings of be-bop into a literary form. I received some encouraging feedback from Peg Nichols of the KAC (Kansas Authors Club). She suggested I try to get a reading done at the American Museum of Jazz up in Kansas City. The suggestion alone gives both myself and the piece a renewed sense of life.

{Peg’s blog, Kansas Plains People focuses on the writing life of Kansans. It touches closer to home for me.}

In The Art of Legerdemain, the life of a Magician is compared in counterpoint to the life of a Poet. Both create illusions out of seemingly nothing; both attempt to awe and dazzle their audience; and both wonder whether their works will have any lasting influence. It is, in essence, a literary autobiography of a period in my life from the late 80’s to the mid 90’s when there were both personal and artistic changes and transformations.

It is amazing to me to consider that the only possibility to put these collections out 20 years ago was via a printed chapbook. Perhaps this is the contemporary digital version of that. I am more proud of my efforts in getting these published in this particular forum. It shows that you CAN teach an old dog some new tricks.

2 Comments

  1. Peg Nichols said,

    March 23, 2011 at 5:58 pm

    I just realized that on the front page of The Kansas City Star today, March 23, the front page picture of Sly James celebrating his election to the mayor’s job was taken at the American Jazz Museum. Doesn’t really show much detail, and you may not be able to get it on the internet version, but take a look. The Jazz Museum shares a big lobby with the Negro Leagues Baseball Museum (where I have been). Does it bode well for the future of Jazz in Kansas City if the incoming mayor celebrates his victory at the Jazz Museum?
    Thanks for the mention on my blog on your blog. I am a proud member of KAC, but I hasten to say that my blog is unofficial. For real information about KAC, go to http://www.kansasauthors.org .

    Like

    • tikiman1962 said,

      March 23, 2011 at 8:02 pm

      The mention was just as much about you as it was for the KAC. What is an organization, after all, if not the character and personality of its members?
      As for the future of Jazz in Kansas City, as long as there is remembrance of the past the future will always live on.

      Like


Leave a Reply

