Balance

As I consider the pieces that I have been revising since the beginning of the year, the word “balance” has come to the forefront in my mind for several reasons associated with writing and the literary life.

First, there are the pieces themselves. The .9 mm Solution is a police procedural in which a pair of FBI profilers tries to track a serial killer who is eradicating criminals and other figures who have not been brought to justice. It alternates between the elements of the investigation and “diary entries” in which valid points of view regarding society and the judicial and penal systems are brought into question.

The counterpoint is Weekend Getaways, or Adventures in Contract Killing which is a dark comic transgressive piece about one man’s attempt to better his life after coming through a life change. He meets an older man who introduces him to the fascinating world of contract killing and finds a renewed vigor. But how long will that last?

To go back and forth between these two is actually a relief. The dead serious highly detailed aspects of the procedural contrast against the out-there aspects of the transgressive piece with its colors and fonts to provide a sense of balance in my mind as I revise and edit.

The most obvious sense of balance as most writers are aware involves their “real” life with their “writing” life. Jennifer Neri is a mother and a writer who finds the time to parent, write, AND blog. Lawrence Estrey, beside being a writer, is also a musician and a photographer and is also apparently quite computer literate (if you read certain posts in his blog). From all appearances, they have achieved a balance. It may have been more difficult than how it appears simply in blog entries. But in order to survive as a writer, the concept of balance is paramount above all else.

What ways do you as a writer maintain balance in your lives? Do you wish you could do more writing or have more time to be just a person?

6 Comments

  1. lawrenceez said,

    March 31, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    Interesting post. And thanks for the kind mention. I haven’t been online much recently, busy learning an entire musical score.

    Best of luck with your writing,

    Lawrence

    Like

  2. tikiman1962 said,

    March 31, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    “busy learning an entire musical score.” Now THAT’S what I call balance. Keep doing what you do, Lawrence. It will make you better as a person and as an artist.

    Like

  3. jenniferneri said,

    April 2, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    lol, do I seem balanced?? Took me 4 days to get to read this post – but I did!

    Amazing how things seem to others. People point out to me quite often that it’s amazing how much work I get done while being a full-time mom, yet still I strive for me. Often wishing I had more time to write, more time to think.

    What keeps me content in this balance is the reminder that my babies are growing, and while my writing will always be here, the care they require will diminish. Yet, there are moments tikiman, where this does not sit well with me. Then, I need to redefine my balance.

    I was surprised to see myself mentioned here – thank you 🙂 I’m glad it seems effortless. Like in writing, takes work to get it there. lol

    Like

  4. tikiman1962 said,

    April 3, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    A quote from Blaise Pascal:

    “I have made this letter longer than usual, only because I have not had the time to make it shorter.”

    It does take a great deal to make things seem effortless. The other great quote is “Perception is reality.” And from all that I’ve read of your blog, I have nothing more to go on for belief than what I perceive from your musings.

    We all, as writers, have complex lives to deal with given the fact that this concept of being a writer is not normal, as those around us define “normal.” However, we plug away,. move one, continue forward, though it make no sense, though it may result in economic futility, the drive, the passion, the devotion IS there, will always BE there, and we know no other course of action.

    Believe it or not, Ms. Neri, you ARE an inspiration to me.

    All the best to you always.

    H.B.

    Like


Leave a Reply

