Someone extremely special

I wish to deviate from my normal subject matter, writing and cooking, to comment on a man of extreme worthiness. His name is Ken Jeter.

When my wife and I were getting ready to buy a spa, we knew we needed a pad to place it on. We had been on the Wichita Pond Tour and had seen a home with stamped concrete. It is, unlike a traditional concrete pad embedded with a pattern. With the addition of a coloring, it makes the concrete appear as stone. We asked the homeowner who the contractor was and determined that it was Ken Jeter of Hummingbird Construction.

We located him, met with him, and probably drove him crazy with all our questions. We also wanted a structure built around the pad to enclose the area, our own spa hut. Ken was efficient, economical, understanding…just about everything you would want from someone you were doing business with. Knowing that I was The Tikiman, he left with us a wooden tiki mask that he had found somewhere.

Shortly after that he built a car port for us. He knew what we wanted and made appropriate suggestions to make sure it was even better than we expected.

Over a year later, my wife wanted the spa hut to be extended and found a photo online. We contacted Ken; he came out and we ran our ideas by him which, once again, he embellished

This is Ken’s magnificent work.

Tonight, while grilling dinner, I saw him walking down my driveway. “You caught me” he said. He had, completely on his own, carved a stunning tiki mask that looked like the owner of the house.

I was stunned, blown away, amazed…to be honest, I don’t have the words to describe my emotions. I can no longer consider Ken Jeter to be just some contractor that we have hired to do projects at our home. This is truly a man of immeasurable character, the likes of which is not seen in this day and age. My wife and I are truly blessed.

{If you are in the Wichita, KS area and you need any kind of concrete or general construction work done, please reply and I will forward you Ken’s number and email. THIS is a man you can count upon.}

2 Comments

  1. lawrenceez said,

    April 8, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    Looks fantastic.

    Like

    • tikiman1962 said,

      April 10, 2011 at 7:43 pm

      If:
      (A) You ever move to Kansas

      or
      (B) Ken ever works outside of the United States,

      I’ll make sure he’s available to you for construction projects.

      Like


Leave a Reply

