A Desire to Write; A Need to Revise

I can’t help it. I have an over-abundant and over-indulgent imagination. I look and see things and imagine and re-imagine them. New items are fodder for crime stories. Novels by favorite authors are jumping off points. Colors of one item coordinate with shapes of a completely different item. I want to create something all the time.

I almost feel like I’m in my twenties again.

Then, the guy who is about to turn forty-nine says “Hold on a minute! Take a good look at ALL of your files. The ones on the computer AND the old papers from twenty plus years ago.” And I start to have an argument with that guy, only because I hope he’ll cut me some slack and let me get around to creating new worlds and developing new characters to send down interesting roads.

But he wins. I look back at my blog entry and the paper I typed at the beginning of January with my 2011 Writing Goals. The Edit column has more entries than the Complete column. I had already stated to myself that this was going to be a year of perfecting the craft and not starting new projects.

But it’s hard in the same way that you are not supposed to eat a favorite item after starting a new diet. How can you possibly give up a favorite food simply to accomplish a healthy lifestyle goal? I realize that a fertile and creative mind does not have to “go to waste” on revision and editing. I realize you need as much if not more of your creative self but more formally balanced by your intellectual guiding forces.

And so, I turn back to “old friends” and become re-acquainted. The new friends will just have to wait.

4 Comments

  1. cath c said,

    May 18, 2011 at 9:57 am

    hmmm, i just sorta blogged the same writerly conflict. editing vs creativity. feh. i don’t think it has to be battle but it sure feels like it sometimes when i’d prefer to go traipsing through unseen territory in my imagination.

    Like

  2. tikiman1962 said,

    May 18, 2011 at 10:47 am

    The Clash said it best…”Should I stay or should I go?/If I stay there will be trouble/If I leave it will be double…”

    Like

  3. lawrenceez said,

    May 29, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    I think it’s good to look at old pieces and also good to develop those in the light of years of practice and experience.

    Like

    • tikiman1962 said,

      May 31, 2011 at 8:25 pm

      It is important to use those “years of practice and experience” expediently and judiciously. And remember how you got to where you are now.

      Like


Leave a Reply

