After the Meeting…

It seems I’m not the only one who is “jazzed” after a meeting with other writer’s. This past Saturday was the monthly meeting of the KWA and afterward a secondary meeting of those interested in or members of the new Indie Writers Alliance.

Discussions are profuse and lively and at times stray from pure discussions of writing and the business thereof. Considering it takes a life filled with experiences to be a writer, it is acceptable to deviate.

I find myself taking feverish notes in longhand and hoping that I can read my own handwriting afterwards. I write down websites, email address, brief words and phrases, anything and everything that made an impression for future use, review or research.

And I’m not alone. On the KWA’s Facebook page there were several comments of the same ilk. You see, writers can not work or live or exist in a vacuum. Yes, writing is a solitary craft, a lonely art. But in the end, we write not for ourselves but to put our work “out there.” And it is highly gratifying to read later that the people who I have just shared ideas with feel in essence the same way.

I recall, some sixteen plus years ago, when I was immersed in the Boston poetry scene, talking with a young man in perhaps his early twenties. I asked him who he read. He responded that he didn’t read any other poets so as not to influence his thoughts and mood. I don’t know about you, but the words “Bull” and “Malarkey” come into my mind when I hear such nonsense. We are not islands. We absorb and experience everything that is around us. We can learn from those who came before us, in one fashion or another, whether by assimilating or rebelling. But we definitely can not create outside of the influence of all else.

I relish the opportunities that being a member of a writer’s group have afforded me. And I can’t wait until what might transpire after the NEXT meeting.

7 Comments

  1. Gordon said,

    July 18, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    Great post and summary of Saturday’s meeting. Writing for the eWorld is a huge responsibility, and I’m glad you’re a part of the IWA!

    Like

    • tikiman1962 said,

      July 19, 2011 at 7:35 pm

      So am I. I’m also glad to see how many attended both he meeting and the After-Meeting. It is highly encouraging.

      Like

  2. Samantha said,

    July 18, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    Excellent post H.B.!

    Like

  3. lawrenceez said,

    July 21, 2011 at 3:37 am

    Hi, very interesting. I wouldn’t mind finding a few writers to meet with regularly.

    Like

  4. lawrenceez said,

    July 22, 2011 at 4:16 am

    Yeah, will bear that in mind. Busy on a new novel, having fun.

    Like


Leave a Reply

