A Husband’s Pride

The expression “finding oneself” seems like something out of the 60’s but in reality it rings as true now. As writer’s, we struggle to find our voice and seek out the manner of expression that is uniquely our own. As a chef, I seek to go beyond what the cookbooks say and create something that is out of the mainstream. So true it is for my wife.

Many years ago, she took a year to take classes in horticulture. The direct results are obvious to anyone who has seen the landscaping at our home. While she is not a Master Gardener, she is looked upon for her knowledge by many members of our circle. (She will probably cringe upon reading that.)

As a classic pack rat and inveterate garage sale and antique mall aficionado, she has fostered a post-retirement dream of owning a shop which would be part antiques and collectibles and park Shabby Chic decor and unique items. The name she came up with is Shabby Shelia’s.

A couple of months ago she took the first step toward making this long-term goal come true. She has a booth in the Delano Antique Mall here in Wichita, Kansas. After all the years where she would buy something unusual and out of the ordinary and I would invariably ask something similar to “What are you going to do with that?”, I know see the answer to my questions. It is merely a space but that is a start, much in the same way that a step is the start of a long journey.

I have assisted her my creating a page on Facebook and will eventually (when business warrants it) help her get business cards and start a web page. But for right now, it is simply the beginning of a dream and it is truly a joy to watch it start to happen.

To all my Facebook friends who will read this blog, I kindly ask you to seek out the page and LIKE it. It will be the kind of validation that any of us seek. To the readers of this blog, thank you for the indulgence to step out of my usual role as writer and chef to exhibit a bit of a husband’s pride. And to my dear wife, Shelia, a reader of this blog as well, I will always be by your side to help you make your dreams come true.

As always you have all my love.

3 Comments

  1. Samantha said,

    July 25, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    Aww…Such a sweet guy! Send me the link H.B., I will like it!

    Like

  2. tikiman1962 said,

    July 26, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    Thanks for the support.

    Like

  3. Shelia said,

    August 2, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    Thank you dearest husband. As you gush I sit here and most certainly blush. (And yes, I cringed.) oooxxx

    Like


Leave a Reply

