My Digital Progress — A Follow-Up

Per Dictionary.com, the definition of PLATFORM (item #7) was

a body of principles on which a person or group takes a stand in appealing to the public

So, we as writers and artists are intent upon building our platform for the sole purpose of appealing to the public, identifying ourselves, our character and personality as well as our work. We hope you will purchase said work because, if we weren’t interested in selling it, we wouldn’t be building our platform.

I’ve been doing this blog for four years, have been on Facebook, have signed up for LinkedIn and Twitter, hand out business cards, talk as much to non-writers (you know, The Public) as much as I discuss writing with those that suffer the same affliction as myself. I’ve uploaded works for sale in both printed and electronic formats on Lulu, Amazon’s Kindle Page, Smashwords, and others. Until now, the only thing I lacked was a website.

Until now.

I am pleased to announce the unveiling of hbberlow.com and hope that there will be visitors as well as purchases of books.

I am indebted to my brother-in-law Greg for getting the thing started. We’ve both been talking for years about each of us needing our own websites for different reasons. Every time I would agree and it would just stop there. Until he just went out and secured my name as a domain (thank goodness) and set up the initial skeleton and instructed me as to how to build up the rest of the body.

Thanks should also go to Gordon Kessler, the founder and current president of the Kansas Writers Association who, for this past year has been strongly advocating the membership to embrace the Digital world and heavily research and explore e-publishing.

Special mention should be made to Samantha Lafantasie, a woman who balances being a wife and mother and writer and adds a great passion to the KWA meetings. She has established a critique group and she is passionate about the craft. It is people like her (who are so utterly different from me) that motivate me in stepping into these new fields.

After all, I’m just an old analog dude living in a digital world.

Please visit my website and come along for the ride.

9 Comments

  1. Gary said,

    October 5, 2011 at 8:30 pm

    HB,

    Congrats on the new website. I’ve bookmarked it as well as your blog.

    Gary

    Like

  2. bdtharp said,

    October 6, 2011 at 10:57 am

    Looks good H.B. Way to go! I’m so proud of you! It’s a tough journey being an author, but it can be loads of fun. Especially when you meet such neat people along the way. I count myself lucky for meeting you and being your friend. Write on!!
    BD

    Like

    • tikiman1962 said,

      October 6, 2011 at 1:15 pm

      KWA meeting, May 2007. You were on a panel with Hazel. That opened my eyes (and ears and brains) right there. I’ll ALWAYS have you to thank for helping me start my journey.

      Like

  3. lawrenceez said,

    October 9, 2011 at 5:55 am

    Just had a look at your website. Excellent bio and photo!

    Like

  4. October 29, 2011 at 8:07 pm

    H.b., You flatter me! Sorry I didn’t notice this until now. 😀 Forgive me? Thanks!

    Like

    • tikiman1962 said,

      October 30, 2011 at 1:09 pm

      You’re deserving of the praise. And no forgiveness is required…unless it is absolutely needed.

      Like


Leave a Reply

