A Smashwords Experiment

This past year, my primary goals have been editing viable material and expanding my networking. To that end, I have gotten involved with Twitter, Linkedin, and Klout. I have published two collections of poetry on Lulu and continued to promote my existing catalog on Smashwords.

The world of e-publishing is expanding at an amazing exponential degree and Gordon Kessler, president of the KWA, has strongly advocated a focus on it. I decided to offer two short stories on Smashwords for free as a small way of generating buzz.

The first story was “Just Like Daddy” concerning an unnamed prostitute who dresses up for her clients to help them fulfill their fantasy. It ends with a violent crime.

The second story was “How to Kill Your Boss and Get Away With It”, a tongue in cheek crime story inspired by my wife’s comment after a particularly difficult day at work.

I placed the first one under the category Fiction>Erotica>Suspense/Mystery. The second one was filed under Fiction>Literature>Transgressional. I uploaded them one day part, the first one eight days ago and the second a week ago.

As of today, “Just Like Daddy” has had 406 downloads. “How to Kill Your Boss and Get Away With It” has had 25.

Title? Category? Expectations? Don’t get me wrong; I’m grateful for the reads. But I’m beginning to understand more fully the power of successful marketing in the digital age.

8 Comments

  1. myrickeaton said,

    December 13, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    It is hard to believe more people don’t want to read about killing their bosses. Maybe it is the “literature” category that is off putting. Hazel

    Like

  2. December 13, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    The digital age is a finicky thing. 😀 Glad to see how many downloads you have, I’m sure that you will get more downloads *crosses fingers for you*

    Like

    • tikiman1962 said,

      December 14, 2011 at 6:00 pm

      It’s all part of the experiment, part of the bigger plan. After all, I’m just an old Analog Dude in a Digital World.

      Like

  3. jenniferneri said,

    December 14, 2011 at 9:54 am

    Looking at the categories, I think the first ones are more mainstream, makes for more of a target. Is there a reason why you didn’t categorize crime story for the second?

    Good for you that you’re out there, exploring these options. I sit in a hole and write. Since baby I haven’t written anything other than novel, my shorts all tucked away. For me it was necessary to explore with shorts, and I am looking foward to when time permits it again.

    Like

    • tikiman1962 said,

      December 14, 2011 at 6:04 pm

      I was interested in seeing, from a marketing standpoint, what was out there and what people would jump on. They might have seen “Erotic” expecting something else and then turned away. Who knows?
      It’s like asking an agent or an editor or a publisher what sells. They can only go on their experience and instinct.
      And don’t forget: baby needs you and baby inspires you, as well as the rest of your family. It is a difficult balancing act being a writer AND a real person.

      Like

  4. lawrenceez said,

    December 17, 2011 at 6:56 am

    Hi, sounds very interesting. I hope to have a look at the second (boss) story at some point. All the best with your writing, Lawrence

    Like

  5. tikiman1962 said,

    December 17, 2011 at 11:20 am

    Hey, who doesn’t like a free sample? I’ll be interested in your feedback.

    Like


Leave a Reply

