I might switch the pitch!

First of all, thank you to all who commented and provided feedback when I asked “Which Pitch to Pitch?” The overwhelming majority of those comments were to pitch the dark comic Transgressive fiction piece, the one that is probably “unpublishable.”

It appears my passion for this piece emerged while discussing my options. Rather than appearing equal to both, a preference inadvertently showed through.

That’ all right, though, because I was leaning toward it anyway. So, done, right? Hold that thought.

I wanted to have two finished pieces available for this writing conference, didn’t want to put all my literary eggs in one basket, so to speak. I was going to bring both. Weekend Getaways was ostensibly finished, just some cosmetic touches to make the interior with its strange fonts and line spacing stand out and be more appealing. Swansong needed a final edit, some tightening to keep it on track for being a face-paced hard-boiled crime fiction.

As I’m working on Swansong, I’m realizing that I’m really really enjoying it. It started out as a NaNoWriMo piece but had long since passed out of that phase and became defined and developed and, well, tight.

I love both of these children equally. They are stylistically different, deal with different themes, have a somewhat different voice, and show drastically different influences.

Yes, I’m bringing both to the writing conference. But I may make a switch on which pitch to pitch.

7 Comments

  1. myrickeaton said,

    February 9, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    H.B. That would be my choice as well. It sounded so interesting when we talked about it the night we filmed your vlog.

    Bonnie J.–

    Like

  2. H.B. Berlow said,

    February 9, 2012 at 10:11 pm

    I might just prep both, bring both, and then decide as the impulse strikes.

    Like

  3. February 10, 2012 at 10:05 am

    You know your work better than anyone else. It’s a part of you. My gut says you should follow your gut. Chances are, you’ll know which one is right and if you decide to do both—do them! What do you have to lose?

    Like

    • H.B. Berlow said,

      February 11, 2012 at 12:41 pm

      And you will find out and witness all this on Friday March 16 when i step up to the plate. How exciting is THAT going to be?

      Like

  4. myrickeaton said,

    February 11, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    Swinging by before I start my day. I’ve GOT to read that book!
    It speaks to my ‘dark’ side.

    Bonnie j.–

    Like

    • H.B. Berlow said,

      February 11, 2012 at 2:10 pm

      You have a dark side?

      Like

      • myrickeaton said,

        February 11, 2012 at 4:02 pm

        I can see you haven’t read my books–nothing but dark so far–with two books of dark fiction and a serial killer in Out of Control!

        That’s about to change wiht me moving into historical fiction, but not until after I’ve read your book. lol

        Bonnie j.–

        Like


Leave a Reply

