And the winner is…

I thought it would be fun to have a book giveaway contest. Hey, who doesn’t like something for free, right? I absolutely did not want it to be random. That’s where I came up with the idea of promoting Kansas Two-Step by asking people to tell me what their favorite dance was and why.

I naturally assumed there was going to be one entry that would make me laugh to bust a gut. Or was full of whimsy and would make me chortle. (Yes, I still chortle on occasion.) Then I got the first entry. And I laughed. And then, I don’t know, maybe I’ve got a real sensitive funny bone, because they all made me laugh.

So, I tried to be analytical. I read all the entries, I don’t know, five times a piece. First by themselves and then one right after another. No good. They were all too good.

Yes, I hear the smart aleck in the back row saying “Why don’t they all get a free book?” Obviously, that individual does not know anything about promoting one’s work.

That left me at the place where I didn’t want to be. Random.

All entrants names were put on a small slip of paper of equal size and folded in the exact same fashion. I have a stone mug from the old Haufbrau Haus beer. It has HB in the front with a crown on top. How cool is that? And then, to keep it purely honest, I let my wife pull out the name.

Since this is NOT the Academy Awards, I can’t say “…And the book goes to…”

The winner is Cathy Coley. I will be contacting her to ship her a lovely, personally signed copy of a madcap comic crime caper. But I certainly do thank everyone who visited the blog or the website. It’s truly been a lot of fun.

1 Comment

  1. Cathy said,

    March 8, 2012 at 7:24 am

    Hey, thanks, H. B.!

    Like


Leave a Reply

