Castorini Chicken and Garlic Pasta

I had an idea for a meal when I made this week’s menu. A concept, really. Grilled chicken over pasta with a butter and garlic sauce. But I didn’t know what I would do until I actually made dinner tonight.

Four very small chicken breasts, already thin. Perfect for a grilled topper. Generously coated with Emeril’s Chicken Rub. Penne rigati, amounting to three-quarters of a decent size of two cereal bowls, in boiling water with garlic salt added. The chicken breasts grilled until done. I cut each breast into about five long thin strips. (The edges did get a little more crispy than I intended but I made sure to cut those pieces smaller.) After the pasta was cooked al dente, I drained it. In the same sauce pan, I melted one tablespoon of butter and then minced three decent sized gloves of garlic, then added two more tablespoons of butter. When it was almost melted, I added the pasta and vigorously stirred, adding a couple of dashes of salt. The pasta went into the bowl, the slices of grilled chicken on top, a mad dash or two of grated Parmesan, and a grind of black pepper. Last minute inspirations.

My wife adored it. And she recognized that my sister-in-law (who loves good pasta dishes and follows my blog) would also love it and that it would have to be a dinner we made for them the next time they came over. Don’t forget to write everything done, my wife reminds me. And, you have to give it a name.

I don’t speak Italian. I could have gone on to babelfish.com and figured out a name and translated it into Italian. Too complicated. My bright idea was to start naming my new creations after actors, actresses, or authors or poets.

Then I laughed to myself. “Castorini Chicken and Pasta”. (My wife reminded me to add “garlic” to the pasta.) Why that, you ask? It was Cher’s last name in Moonstruck. I know you still don’t get it. You see, my sister-in-law, who loves pasta dishes, reads my blog, and takes note of my recipes, does not like the movie Moonstruck. The real question is: Will she come to dinner and eat what is sure to be one of her new all-time favorite dishes that is named after a movie she doesn’t like?

Follow the string of responses; I’m sure hers will appear some time soon.

5 Comments

  1. myrickeaton said,

    June 6, 2012 at 9:45 am

    Oh, H.B. that is sooooooo funny. I’ll be looking forward to the responses. My guess is her love of that dish will overcome her reluctance of . . . what’s that gal’s name? I personally don’t care for Cher’s acting ability but I sure wish I had a body like hers. Oh well….(big sigh!)

    Bonnie My;rick
    Keyhole Conversations
    http://2tgr.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. Sharyl Friebus said,

    June 6, 2012 at 12:37 pm

    Okay, this is the “sister in law” replying….HB knows how much I LOVE pasta dishes and anything with garlic, butter & parmesan! He also knows how much I love coming to his and my sister’s house for dinner! That being said, I will politely ignore the name of the dish, but will most definitely come over as soon as we are invited. (just please don’t have Moonstruck playing on the TV when we get there!) 🙂

    Like

    • H.B. Berlow said,

      June 6, 2012 at 9:29 pm

      People have been awaiting your reply. They were holding their breath in anticipation.
      The date of the invite is still open. We won’t be showing anything on the t.v. but there may be a lot of Dean Martin playing on the CD player.
      “When the moon hits your eye like a big pizza pie, that’s amore.”

      Like

      • Sharyl Friebus said,

        June 7, 2012 at 8:07 am

        That I can handle, because something you also know is that I love Dean!

        Like


Leave a Reply

