Perks

{This was a little something I wrote while waiting to board an airplane. It was April 29, 2012 and my wife and I were in Atlanta for our flight home to Wichita. We had already upgraded to First Class and were looking forward to unwinding at the end of our trip. Any writer will appreciate this because it involves word choices as used by businesses.}

I don’t mind the expression “Business Class” as opposed to “First Class.” In this day, business travelers have a more exalted aura

What I find fascinating are the perks that are offered for this upgrade. They describe the wide leather seats with more leg room. It is a factual assessment. They mention the priority boarding and departure. Again, a statement of fact. The significant perk is free booze. Naturally, they don’t say that.

The airline refers to it as Complimentary Adult Beverage Service. I’m sure the expression “Open Bar” is out of style as well. So, instead of free booze, I’m asking my flight attendant for a complimentary adult beverage.

4 Comments

  1. myrickeaton said,

    June 15, 2012 at 9:36 am

    Great blog post, H.B. and great information. I hate flying. There was no leg room or ‘adult beverage service’ when I flew to see my girl. I’d like to go again but drive out, taking my time to enjoy the USA landscape. Soon, maybe. I still have cats to worry about leaving, though, which makes it hard for me to fly the coop! lol

    Like

    • H.B. Berlow said,

      June 17, 2012 at 9:07 pm

      It’s a strange new world of travel. Maybe we should all just drive a VW minbus and see America mile by mile.

      Like

  2. lawrenceez said,

    June 18, 2012 at 3:52 am

    Too frightened to fly, but Iwouldn’t mind so much with a free bar.

    Like


Leave a Reply

