Writing Through the Silence

Writer’s Block doesn’t exist for me. I have always had the ability to come up with story ideas and in this day of Internet access, the world, as it happens is at your disposal. I read and am inspired by what I read. I discuss with other writers and with non-writers and ideas formulate.

What I run into is The Silence.

It is a time where the world is yelling at me and blocking out the voices of my characters or deafening my ears to a poetic song that may be developing. It is a time when anxiety and fear and trauma rattles the concrete pillars of my resolve. When, despite my proclamation that Writing solves everything, Life speeds up and passes me, then rudely slams on the brakes.

As a Writer, I recognize my role as husband, brother, son, employee, etc. I do make every attempt to keep things balanced and not allow anything to take precedence to the ill-effect of another. However, this is not such a time.

My mind races to a situation geographically removed and beyond my control. It is Life taking control of the driver’s wheel and I am merely a passenger. So, I hold on for the ride through The Silence.

But I sill make every attempt to keep things balanced. This is what we do as Writers. This is what we need to do. We need to keep listening, even through The Silence for that voice, that song, that lyrical wave that will bring us back to our journey.

9 Comments

  1. jenniferneri said,

    August 7, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    That lyrical wave…..to me you wrote this on the highest tip of that wave. Very Beautiflly written.

    Like

  2. Cathy said,

    August 8, 2012 at 7:31 am

    amen, hb, and you wrote the conundrum well.

    Like

    • H.B. Berlow said,

      August 8, 2012 at 8:50 pm

      I am reminded of a conversation (one of many) with Mr. Gallo about using our poetic voice to reach The Silence. Maybe it’s not a bad thing after all.

      Like

      • Cathy said,

        August 9, 2012 at 6:43 am

        i was in those convos, too. i think that was/is the main purpose of my poetry. 🙂

        Like

      • H.B. Berlow said,

        August 9, 2012 at 8:01 pm

        I wonder if it has changed/shifted/metamorphosized as we’ve gotten older.

        Like

      • Cathy said,

        August 10, 2012 at 10:01 am

        only lessened with influx of child hoard.

        Like

  3. 5kidswdisabilities said,

    August 12, 2012 at 2:17 pm

    My silence in writing is filled with the noise of what’s going on in every day life. I WISH I had more real silence in which to write!

    Like

    • H.B. Berlow said,

      August 12, 2012 at 3:44 pm

      Is there not a chance to hear something within all that is going on around you? It might seem like a cacophony but there could be some magical words within all of that. I hope you find the magic, the time, and the silence.

      Like


Leave a Reply

