Putting Together a Writing Conference

As President of the KWA (Kansas Writer’s Association), it is incumbent upon me to oversee the organizational aspects of our yearly writer’s conference. Just between you and me, I’ve never done anything like this before.

But I have been to conferences both big and small. Two day conferences with multiple tracks. One day seminars with one speaker. They are not all the same and one is not better than the other. That being said, I figured I would just come up with a theme, figure out who I knew (or who I knew who knew someone) and create a string.

It seems to be working. I have six varied speakers, all from different backgrounds, all presenting something more personal to them who I know will engage our attendees. No, this is not an advertisement. Not yet, anyway. It is simply a way of reminding myself that there is a human aspect to all the “necessary details” (venue, food, advertising and marketing, etc.). That human aspect is the speakers.

At some point, I plan to meet with each of them individually. That is something I am really looking forward to. It will be a sneak preview, if you will, of the conference itself. More importantly, it will be a chance to meet with, on a human level, a variety of writers far different from myself, who are at different stages of their careers, and who bring something rather unique to the table.

I am surprising myself at the balance between my organizational and creative sides and pleased to know that they co-exist in harmony. The end result, I believe, will be an intriguing conference that people will appreciate. Isn’t that what it’s all about?

6 Comments

  1. myrickeaton said,

    October 4, 2012 at 1:35 pm

    Way to go, H. B.!

    B. J. Myrick
    Keyhole Conversations

    Like

  2. Louise Pelzl said,

    October 5, 2012 at 7:59 am

    You will do a great job for KWA.

    Like

  3. Valerie Del Signore said,

    October 8, 2012 at 3:10 pm

    With your creative mind, enthusiasm and wonderful sense of humor, I have no doubt you will be brilliant in all your endeavors! Slightly prejudice I am as a Sister!! Kudos to you…

    Like


Leave a Reply

