This kinda sucks

I realized it has been a long time since I’ve added anything to this tale of my journey as a writer. This is, I realize, largely due to the fact that the train has slowed somewhat dramatically. An extended and long distance effort to finalize my late mother’s estate has drained me to the point of mental and emotional exhaustion. A labor-intensive home renovation project has made me feel trapped in my own home. And, of course, the “joy” of the holidays is upon us.

I just wish this year would end.

To free myself of burdens, I’ve departed from a writer’s support group that I started and effectively ended my critique group. I’ve been able to sneak in two or three editing sessions on one of the four projects I was actively working on at the time that everything came to a head.

But, it occurred to me that I have other responsibilities as a married man, a homeowner, a full-time employee. I have accepted these responsibilities unlike the carefree days of a Bohemian poet in Boston twenty years ago. I can’t write every day as some mantras declare. As it turns out, sometimes you can’t write at all.

I have stated in the past that the most invigorating times are when I am writing or with other writers. This has not dissipated. However, I have not stopped BEING a writer merely because I am not actively writing. I read, every day at work. (Currently on Sterne’s The Life and Opinions of Tristram Shandy, Gentleman as a way to inform my own work of metafiction.) I peruse my non-fiction books at home. I play around on the internet seeking general information or go off on a research tangent simply as a way to jump-start my brain.

In essence, I realize that I am not fading away (although from a social networking sense, I HAVE been rather quiet). From a literary standpoint, I would call it more like hibernation. Yes, there is still the issue of my mother’s estate and finishing the remodel and getting through the holidays. But The Writer is still alive.

Nevertheless, this still kinda sucks.

2 Comments

  1. Jane said,

    December 4, 2014 at 5:53 am

    It’s called life. Yeah, it does get in the way. But, Dude, you have lots of years. Sometimes it’s good to backburnerer to regroup. The time will come when the call will come. Knowing you, the call will not disappear. Your mind just needs to regroup.

    Like

  2. revcindylee said,

    December 4, 2014 at 2:51 pm

    H.b. I understand this more than you can know. My last year has not been wonderful either. The loss of a parent, particularly the last parent is draining, and sad and sometimes overwhelming. I still have some “stuff” that I am going through and it may be a while yet before I am done with physical stuff, may never be through with the other. Hang in there. You will write again, and I look forward to reading it.

    Like


Leave a Reply

