Let’s Talk

My blog was started as a way to connect with other writers and to talk about “the writing life” whatever that might mean to each of you. I have used it as well to promote my own works and I probably should be doing more to talk about my forthcoming book from The Wild Rose Press. But for this one moment I want to deviate because there is too much happening in the world based on negativity.

Race relations and politics have dominated the news. There seems to be nothing but finger-pointing, name-calling, and general hatred. There can be no unity without clear discourse. We can’t solve anything without talking about it as well as listening to the other side. Perhaps the biggest issue is that we don’t really know each other.

Take me for example. I’m a 54-year-old white male. I profess the Jewish religion without necessarily being an active practitioner. I’m from New England, having been born and raised in a suburb of Boston. I identify as a liberal, perhaps more so from a social standpoint, and somewhat conservative fiscally. I am a writer and value the arts in society.

If you can relate to this description, I am NOT talking to you.

I want to talk with those who are not, well, me! I grew up with people like me. I spent a great amount of time with people like me. Whereas we are all individuals and should not be lumped under any one demographic, I want to talk to someone else in order to better understand them and their situation. How they feel they fit, or don’t. What they fear the most in everyday life. What they want to accomplish. I don’t know if it will accomplish anything other than allowing me to have the perspective that I can not get in my daily life.

And maybe if other people reach out to a stranger, someone so unlike them, there will be more understanding and less fear and hatred. There’s nothing to lose. You can always go back to your self-contained world and never cross paths with someone different ever again. What is there to lose? If you’re willing to talk, I’m willing to listen.

So, let’s talk.

8 Comments

  1. Jay W. said,

    September 3, 2016 at 9:19 am

    Dear H.B. or Hugh as I knew you. Sorry to post this off topic reply but I just wanted to say hello. We grew up together. Went to school together. I remember as a kid being at your house many times. I always knew you would be successful and do something creative. I saw something somewhere of your interest in cooking and ironically I went to culinary school and am a chef. Glad to see you doing so well.
    BTW, do you still like cheez its?
    Jay W.
    P.S. Hopefully you know who this is. Feel free to email if you’d like. It would be great to hear from you.

    Like

  2. H.B. Berlow said,

    September 4, 2016 at 6:12 pm

    I knew a Jay Warshaw in Randolph with a very nice house and a poodle, and friends with Robert Rubin. Am I close?

    Like

    • Jay W. said,

      September 5, 2016 at 8:11 am

      You’re about as close as you can get. It’s funny what you remember about people because I completely forgot about that poodle. God, I hated that thing. I’ve been living in Sarasota FL since 2002. It’s so nice not to have to deal with snow anymore. I’m going to try and get a hold of some of your books. How many are there? Thanks for replying. We’ll have to talk some day.
      Jay

      Like

      • H.B. Berlow said,

        September 7, 2016 at 8:17 pm

        Find me on Facebook if you’re there. It’s under H.B. Berlow. And, yes, I still love Cheez-Its.

        Like

  3. Jay W. said,

    September 10, 2016 at 6:30 pm

    I do not have Facebook. I’m hoping one day to be the only person on Earth to resist the temptation. If you want to email me at jmw613@aol.com I’ll get back with you.

    Like

  4. Tiinsky said,

    September 13, 2016 at 9:51 am

    Hello HB.

    I’ve just followed your blog tonight, so I have a little catching up to do. I wear dresses, drink far too much coffee and tend to lean to the left when it comes to politics. I married a jewish man from Boston but we live in Australia, much to his mother’s dismay.

    Looking forward to reading your updates!

    Tina.

    Like

  5. H.B. Berlow said,

    September 14, 2016 at 8:35 pm

    Well, thank you for finding me. I wear Hawaiian shirts, drink far too many martinis, and tend to lean to the left when it comes to politics. My wife married a Jewish man from Boston but we live in Kansas.
    I read your article on withdrawing from Facebook. I know of many who have become overwhelmed. I use it as much to keep in immediate contact with family as for a platform. However, I have communicated with many people here as well.
    Kepp writing. Keep communicating.

    Like

  6. October 10, 2016 at 7:51 pm

    […] brought out the absolute worst on both sides. Civil discourse seems to be a thing of the past. I posted over a month ago that I simply wanted to have a conversation with someone who was diametrically […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

