It’s Got to Start Somewhere

Please allow me a diversion from my usual musings on writing and the writing life.

I had an idea, probably silly, because, after all, one man can’t change things. But one man can try.

I am disheartened by the racial tensions in this country which have brought out the absolute worst on both sides. Civil discourse seems to be a thing of the past. I posted over a month ago that I simply wanted to have a conversation with someone who was diametrically opposite of me. I figured that would be a good start. Regrettably, no takers.

Then I remembered a former co-worker who seems to be thoughtful and well spoken with passionate ideals. He is younger and black. I reached out to him to get together, maybe a Facebook Live chat to show others that two people CAN communicate with each other. This was set up twice and fell through both times.

It’s important for me to say that I am not writing this to call him out. His comments were disconcerting. He felt as though people were too screwed up in general and that nothing was going to come of this. Perhaps he is right. Maybe it’s an attitude shared by his generation (he’s in his twenties) and race has nothing to do with it. It could very well be that the older generation, MY generation, has done nothing to instill any confidence at all in creating Hope for the future.

That’s when you stop and realize what you have speculated. HIS generation. MY generation. Just lumping everybody into a group. No accounting for individuals. Not looking at a person…as a person. Separate from all others of the same age, race, religion, socio-economic standing, sexual orientation. The question to be posed has to be: Who are YOU?

So, this one young man who seems frustrated, may indeed reach back to me, may try to take a step forward and do something which probably won’t accomplish anything. He’s a good kid with a good heart. Perhaps he’ll find a renewed sense of Hope. All I know is that it’s got to start somewhere.

Anyone?

Leave a Reply

