WHERE TO NEXT?

Some people plan. Some people go with the flow. In this regard, I am not referring to Plotters vs. Pantsers as it relates to writing. I’m talking about Life, the one with the capital L.

My wife and I knew we needed to downsize. Our beautiful 2500 sq ft Victorian home in midtown Wichita, KS had been a joy to live in for 25 years. But it was far too big and would be unwieldy to live in as we headed toward retirement. Not to mention too costly from a utilities standpoint. We searched for eighteen months before finding the ideal house in terms of size and manageability.

Check.

We are frugal without being cheap but understood what it took to develop a financial plan to aid us with retirement. That word, for both of us, meant simply not punching the clock. Both of us are impassioned and energetic with interests beyond employment. We’ve been working with a financial advisor for a number of years and have most of our ducks in a row. We will be prepared to leave our respective jobs at age 65, which, for me, is barely over three years away.

Check.

I’m writing, more now than ever before. That has never been an issue. The first book of a new series is out, the second in the hands of an editor, the third being written. I have been co-hosting a podcast, Tikiman and The Viking since July 2023. And the two of us will be speakers at the OWFI Conference in May.

That’s all Now. That’s ongoing. But to quote the classic line from any job interview “Where do you see yourself five years from now?”

As much as I plan things (just ask my wife when it comes to a menu and a shopping list!), I can’t project as much with regard to Writing in the future. Not that I have any intention of stopping. After fifty + years, it makes no sense. I mean, it’s NOT a job as much as it is a rewarding avocation. But do I simply sit down for four hours a day and write more books? Maybe a couple of extra hours on social media? Research other writers’ conferences regionally? Get a teaching certificate?

I have to consider my responsibilities as a husband and homeowner first. By the same token, I can’t overlook the possibilities that exist when I don’t have a specific time to wake up, a designated time for lunch, and commuting to and from a place of employment. Then again, devoting a massive amount of time to creative endeavors could put me in a position of burnout.

Perhaps I’m worrying too much about “how things will be” before I even get there. The Adult in me is concerned about planning, just as he did with downsizing and finances. The Creative aspect is perfectly willing to figure things out and move along in the same general direction as now.

Eventually, I’ll figure it out.

2 thoughts on “WHERE TO NEXT?

  1. I recommend a retirement trip. There’s a place for you two in Washington State’s Cascade Mountain Foothills (for a day or two 🙂 ).

    Like

    1. Anything is possible. Look at what we’ve done in the past 40 years!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close