Whoa! Put on the brakes!

You are probably aware that I have started writing a historical crime fiction series. It was completely new to me, at least the historical part. As for this series, well, things have suddenly turned into the proverbial runaway train. Let me explain.

The first in the series, Ark City Confidential, came after numerous tales told to me by my wife’s uncle, a long time resident of Arkansas City, KS. Stories of underground tunnels and the nickname “Little Chicago” spurred my interest. After coming off two (now out-of-print) books of contemporary crime fiction, I was looking for something different and gave this a shot.

While pitching it at the OWFI Conference in Oklahoma City, I was advised by one publisher that series were really in. On the two plus hour drive home, I worked out three more plot lines and figured five total would work. I also paid attention to my driving.

As I was in final stages of editing Secrets of the Righteous, Book Two of the Ark City Confidential Chronicles, I started outlining and researching Book Three. After a publication date for Book Two was announced, I started writing Book Three.

Here’s where it got tricky/interesting. I had a brainstorm for the story for Book Four, ran it by a co-worker who is an avid supporter. She loved it. Ok, fine. I can do a synopsis for Book Four while writing Book Three, even though I was still in the midst of some heavy research regarding WWII POW camps in Kansas.

Eager to get writing Four even though I’m still writing Three, I recently returned from my 20th anniversary trip with my wife to San Francisco. Where we toured Alcatraz

and ate dinner at John’s Grill, a place frequented by Dashiell Hammett.

Well, it was only natural that I should come up with a story line for Book Five (and especially after my wife suggested it would be great to use Alcatraz in a story). I’m enjoying my vacation spending a magnificent time with my wife in celebration of my marriage…and my mind is racing! (Hey, I’m a writer.)

After we got home, more of THAT story came into focus. Then, it dawned on me: I haven’t even completed the first draft of Book Three. Whereas it is exciting to write and create and weave stories, everything must come in due time. If this were simply a matter of “another project” there COULD be a sense of juggling. However, as these are sequential, the emotional development of the main character is vitally important and can’t be rushed.

For now, Book Four and Book Five are on the back burner. Book Three gets my undivided attention.

But, WOW!…….

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close