Validation

One of my Works in Progress is Weekend Getaways, or Adventures in Contract Killing. It is a dark comic piece of Transgressive fiction that tells the story of an unnamed forty-something man who no longer finds fascination with the trappings of modern life. Upon meeting an unusual older man, he embarks upon a new avocation of contract killing.

Thematically and stylistically, it has echoes of other contemporary Transgressive writers like Bret Easton Ellis and Chuck Palahniuk. But it employs unique typography and is designed to be as much of a visual assault as a literary one. I’ve been working on it quite a bit, expanding it, fleshing out the themes, and, well, making it even “crazier” than when I started.

I’ve always felt it would be a tough sell, especially as a new unpublished writer. (Although Jessica Regel of the Jean V Nagger Agency did give me a 4-week read on the first three chapters.) Nevertheless, I keep plugging away at it because it is both a challenging and rewarding piece and then I work on a more standard police procedural Work in Progress.

In my efforts to absorb more of the Transgressive style and intent, I bought Irvine Welsh’s Trash. He is the writer of Trainspotting but I decided to start with this (to me) unknown book first.

Excuse the cliché but…Lo and Behold! Unique typography. A parasite living in the main character’s body is represented on the page covering up whole portions of the text. A chapter, written from the wife’s perspective, in boldface with a different font. The language entirely in Scots dialect.

Wow!

Now I am NO Irvine Welsh, that is for sure. However, good writing trumps all and there ARE publishers and agents out there who understand, accept, and appreciate the genre. Yes, I will still work on the police procedural. BUT I am plowing forth with my Transgressive work.

2 Comments

  1. April 12, 2011 at 9:22 am

    Hey, you have to write what you have to write! 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

